Mayatan Foundation

The Mayatan Foundation owns and operates the Mayatan Bilingual School. The Foundation is a registered non-profit  organization in Copán Ruinas, Honduras and is closly affiliated with U.S. 501(c)3 Non-Profit Organization - Hope for Tomorrow.

Our Foundation is comprised of 16 board members, including our  school's three founding mothers. Members join by invitation and are elected internally to positions within the board. The entire board meets annually, and members involved in day-to-day operations meet at monthly Executive Direction Meetings.


Approximately 50% of Mayatan Bilingual School students receive some level of financial assistance from Mayatan Foundation. This assistance comes from donors to the Mayatan Foundation and from the Foundation itself.  Tax exempt contributions from the United States reach the Mayatan Foundation scholarship program via Hope for Tomorrow, Inc., a 501(c)(3) non-profit institution.

Financial Reports - All figures in Honduran Lempiras

Our Board of Directors

President - Nora Arita

Vice President - Jose Raul Welchez

Secretary - Mayra Arias de Welchez

Financial Officer - Lázaro J. Serrano Cid, CPA, MBA

Treasurer - Maru Arias

Board members:

 - Juan Angel Arias
 - Mauricio Arias
 - Magda Arias de Medina
 - Gilberto Arita
 - Cristina de Arita
 - Magdalena de Arias
 - Lorena de Arias
 - Maria Eugenia Aviles de Arias
 - Emory Blackwell
 - Frank Hopkins
 - Belva Hopkins
 - Lindsay Hill
 - John Weber
 - Juan Angel Welchez

Honorary Board Members

 - Susan Clarke
 - Josh Forehand